Published on Nominees

After opening nominations for our first-ever SustainPHL awards, we were overwhelmed by over 180 nominations! Thank you to everyone who nominated a Philly changemaker or local hero. We read so many amazing stories, and it was difficult to narrow the list down to our 12 categories.

Without further to do, we’re thrilled to announce the 2016 SustainPHL nominees.

SustainPHL 2016 Nominees

Neighborhood Champion

  • Germantown Special Services District
  • Sam Holloschutz | Fairmount
  • Lara Kelly | Northern Liberties
  • Claire Laver | Point Breeze

Sustainable Communities

  • Lori Braunstein
  • GreenFutures | Philadelphia School District
  • Philadelphia Orchard Project

Civic Sustainability Award

  • Ryan Harris | As I Plant This Seed
  • Morris Holland Derry III | No More Pain
  • PowerCorps PHL

Local Advocate

  • Dave Bower
  • Saleem Chapman | Sustainable Business Network
  • Joshua Nims | SRDC

Unsung Hero

  • Brad Maule
  • Nic Esposito
  • Jerome Shabazz

Business Innovation of the Year

  • Good Company Ventures
  • Lia Diagnostics
  • Tern Water

Impact Business Leader

  • Solar States
  • United By Blue
  • Wash Cycle Laundry

Activist of the Year

  • Connor Barwin |  Make the World Better Foundation
  • Rachel Black | Humane League
  • Michelle Feldman | Keep Philadelphia More Beautiful
  • Leroy Fisher | Hunting Park

Locavore Champion

  • Farm Philly
  • Heritage Farm
  • Laurel Valley Soil
  • Rad Dish Co-Op

Climate Hero

  • #ClimateDisrupted
  • Green City, Clean Waters| Philadelphia Water Department
  • Swarthmore College


  • 5th Square
  • Bicycle Coalition
  • Reimagining the Civic Commons | Fairmount Park Conservancy

Sustainability Mentor

  • Dr. Russell Gregory
  • Kathleen Grady
  • Lamar Gore

Congratulations to the 2016 Finalists! We can’t wait to see you all on August 18th at WHYY.

Get ready to see who wins! Ticket sales open on Monday, June 13th online.

by Julie