Published on Award Recipients

SustainPHL finally happened last evening – and it was one for the books!

We’ll get to all the details of how the night went, including all the people and organizations who made the event possible soon. But in the meantime, we want to congratulate all of the nominees and award recipients. All 39 nominees deserve recognition for what they are doing in the city – and you can read all of their stories on Green Philly Blog here.

Now, those who received awards last evening!

2016 SustainPHL Award Recipients

Sustainable Pioneer Award

Judy Wicks

We surprised Judy Wicks with this award, because without her, the Philadelphia sustainability movement wouldn’t be where it is today.

Neighborhood Champion: Sam Holloschutz


Germantown Special Services District
Claire Laver | Point Breeze
Lara Kelly | Northern Liberties

This category honors those individuals furthering positive change in his/her neighborhood.

Sustainable Communities: GreenFutures | Philadelphia School District


Lori Braunstein
Philadelphia Orchard Project

This category honors those who have shown extraordinary work in their community and improves local quality of life. Our communities rely on people and organizations like these recipients to develop long-term sustainability plans, bring together diverse stakeholders to work together towards a common sustainability goal, and creating beautiful green spaces that expand community-based food production.

Civic Sustainability Award: Morris Holland Derry III


Ryan Harris | As I Plant This Seed
PowerCorps PHL

This category honors individuals who advance their community through civic service as well as giving back in meaningful ways.

Local Advocate: Saleem Chapman


Dave Bower
Joshua Nims

This category honors individuals who go above & beyond within his or her organization to improve his/her community. (Can you even imagine the change we could make if every organization had a member dedicated to improving the community? That person could be you!)

Unsung Hero: Nic Esposito


Brad Maule
Jerome Shabazz

This category honors those making a substantive yet largely unrecognized contribution to sustainability in our communities.

Business Innovation of the Year: Good Company Ventures


Tern Water
Lia Diagnostics

These honorees are bringing sustainability and scale to our community.

Impact Business Leader: Wash Cycle Laundry


Solar States
United By Blue

These businesses are making an impact in our community, by employing community members as well as positively affecting our environment.

TD Bank Activist of the Year: Leroy Fisher

Michelle Feldman
Rachel Black
Connor Barwin

This category honors those who are campaigning for social and sustainable changes to be made to our communities. They are elevating causes and bringing leadership to challenges that face our city.

Locavore Champion: Rad Dish Co-op

Farm Philly
Heritage Farm
Laurel Valley Soil

This category honors those organizations that are champions of the local food movement. Without them, we may not know where our ingredients are coming from; their work gets organic, ethically & locally sourced foods into their community.

Climate Hero: Green City, Clean Waters (Philadelphia Water)

Swarthmore College

Climate Change is real, and I think we can all agree that it may be the biggest risk to our planet and potentially our economies. These honorees are advocates to bring climate change as a central part of our conversation or takes action to fight climate change.

#FuturePHL: Bicycle Coalition of Greater Philadelphia


5th Square
Reimagining the Civic Commons | Fairmount Park Conservancy

Like all of our nominees, the #FuturePHL nominees are propelling Philadelphia’s future in sustainability.

Sustainability Mentor: Lamar Gore


Dr. Russell Gregory
Kathleen Grady

The nominees for this award go beyond just personal practice and take their leadership and influence to teach students to expand their view to evaluate their impact on the surrounding environment.

by Julie