Published on Uncategorized

Drum roll, please: it’s time to announce the nominees for SustainPHL!

How we chose: Nominations were open to the public in May with an online submission form. Our committee reviewed each criterion and awarded points based on submission forms. Then, The final top 3 nominees were tabulated by highest-ranking average score, with a couple of ties!

Without further ado, here are the 2019 SustainPHL nominees:

SustainPHL 2019 Nominees

Activist of the Year

  • Arnett Woodall
  • Amanda Lapham
  • Eurhi Jones

Sustainable Communities

  • Philadelphia Beekeepers Guild
  • PHS Tree Tenders
  • One Art Community Center

Impact Business Leader

  • Mt. Airy Nexus
  • Infrastructure Solution Services
  • Remark Glass

Business Innovation

  • Simply Good Jars
  • Dropps
  • Wearwell

Social Impact

  • Tiffany Yau, FulPhil
  • Blew Kind, Franny Lou’s Porch
  • Anna Welsh, Little Bags, Big Impact

Climate Hero

  • Sophie Sarkar (OOS)
  • Climate and Healthy Homes
  • Joanne Douglas
  • Amy Kate Failing

Neighborhood Champ

  • Kyle Shenandoah
  • Heidi Grunwald
  • Vivian Vanstory


  • Ash Richards, City of Philadelphia 
  • Megha Kulshreshtha, Food Connect  
  • The Rodale Institute

Sustainability Mentor

  • Alisa Shargorodsky
  • Ken Hamilton
  • Daniel Lawson
  • The Urban Creators

by Julie